Time For A Little Joy …

Sometimes I struggle to smile and find the joy in life. I mean, we are living in a crazy time, aren’t we.

Is it just me or do you feel the same?

This past weekend, my family got a little lesson in joy.

A Facebook friend who posts jokes that I get a kick out of, posted one that had me laughing more than usual. I shared it with my husband and it became a joke that lasted several days between us. He just loves a good “Dad joke”.

However, our son wasn’t so amused. More than once we got the “look“. You know the one I’m talking about. And it doesn’t matter how old your kids are. It’s the look that says “really?” and “grow up“.

But my husband and I didn’t care, we laughed and threw out the joke at every opportunity.

Each time our son was around and heard us, we got the “look“.

After all the “grow up” glares, I finally retorted with a “lighten up” rebuttal.

As we all laughed and our son decided to give his mom and dad a break, we realized how good laughter can be.

“A merry heart does good, like medicine.
But a broken spirit dries the bones.”
~Proverbs 17:22

God equipped us with the ability to experience joy. To find joy in unexpected places. To see joy even when it’s hidden.

So … my blessing nugget for y’all … LAUGH! Even at the silly, corny stuff. Look for joy. Be merry. Find fun in the simple things … like your dog sticking their head out the car window. Dance and sing—even if someone is watching. Let’s enjoy the blessings God has poured out on us!

“You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed
me with JOY”
~Psalm 30:11

Coming soon—Cozy Intrigue’s
Down South Adventures …
Part Two.
Be watching to find out where
in the south
our adventures took us!

Author: Janet Campbell

Follower of Christ, mother, wife, and writer of mysteries. Wrapped around the paw of a 5 lb Pomeranian named Little Ali Sunshine.

One thought on “Time For A Little Joy …”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Joann M. Claypoole ~ Dreamdove's Flights Of Fancy

Where inspirational and mysterious stories about life and love take flight.

wisdom from the doublewide

common sense for life

Kim Wilbanks

Feathering My Empty Nest

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.